ProgramMaster Logo
Conference Tools for 2025 TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition
Login
Register as a New User
Help
Submit An Abstract
Propose A Symposium
Presenter/Author Tools
Organizer/Editor Tools
About this Symposium
Meeting 2025 TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition
Symposium Advanced Materials for Energy Conversion and Storage 2025
Sponsorship
Organizer(s) Surojit Gupta, University of North Dakota
Jung Pyung Choi, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Amit Pandey, Lockheed Martin Space
Partha P. Mukherjee, Purdue University
Soumendra Basu, Boston University
Paul R. Ohodnicki, University of Pittsburgh
Eric Detsi, University of Pennsylvania
Scope Theme 1: Energy Conversion

Co-Organizers
i. Prof. Soumendra Basu, Boston University, basu@bu.edu (Lead)
iii. Prof. Xingbo Liu, West Virginia University, xingbo.liu@mail.wvu.edu
iv. Prof. Kyle S Brinkman, Clemson Univ., ksbrink@clemson.edu
v. Dr. Jung Pyung Choi, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, jungpyung.choi@pnnl.gov
vi. Prof. Xiao-Dong Zhou , Univ. of Connecticut, xiao-dong.zhou@uconn.edu
vii. Dr. Amit Pandey, Lockheed Martin Space, amit.pandey@lmco.com

Focus area: These focus area topics include, but are not limited to, experiments and modeling of energy conversion systems, including:
• SOFCs and reversible SOFCs/SOECs
• PEM fuel cells
• The durability of the fuel cell and stack materials
• Degradation due to thermo-mechanical-chemical effects
• Effect of microstructure evolution on the properties and efficiency
• Chromium poisoning from interconnections and Balance of Plant
• Advances in characterization and modeling techniques for energy generation systems include AI, big data, and Deep Learning.

Theme 2: Energy Storage
Co-Organizers
i. Prof. Partha P. Mukherjee, Purdue University, pmukherjee@purdue.edu (Lead)
ii. Prof. Eric Detsi, University of Pennsylvania, detsi@seas.upenn.edu
iii. Prof. George Nelson, University of Alabama in Huntsville, george.nelson@uah.edu
iv. Prof. Leela Arava, Wayne State University, larava@wayne.edu
v. Prof. Leon Shaw, Illinois Institute of Technology, lshaw2@iit.edu
vi. Dr. Ankit Verma, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, ankit.verma@nrel.gov
vii. Prof. Cengiz Ozkan, University of California Riverside,cozan@engr.ucr.edu

Focus area:
• Batteries
• Physicochemical Interaction in intercalation, conversion, and metal batteries, e.g., lithium-ion, solid-state, Na-ion, Li-S, Li-air
• Electrode microstructure - property - performance interplay
• Mesoscale modeling and characterization (e.g., X-ray tomography)
• Degradation (e.g., mechanical, chemical, electrodeposition) and safety characteristics in electrodes
• Computer simulation/modeling includes AI, big data, and deep learning.

Theme 3: Materials Design for Sustainability and Energy Harvesting
Co-Organizers
i. Prof. Surojit Gupta, University of North Dakota, surojit.gupta@engr.und.edu (Lead)
ii. Prof. Sankha Banerjee, California State University, sankhab@csufresno.edu
iii. Prof. Manoj Kumar Mahapatra, University of Alabama, mkmanoj@uab.edu
iv. Prof. Lan Li, Boise State University, lanli@boisestate.edu
v. Dr. Sandip Agarwal, Vuronyxtech, sandip.agarwal@vuronyxtech.com

Focus area: This symposium component will focus on a variety of green and sustainable technologies for energy harvesting, additive manufacturing, green tribology, next-generation products and processes, and development of advanced instrumentation and control systems, etc.
Proposed Session Topics
• Solar Energy
• Wind Energy
• supercapacitor
• Additive manufacturing, 3D printing, and sustainability
• Green Tribology
• Life cycle analysis of materials and products
• Computer simulation/modeling includes AI, big data, and deep learning.

Theme 4- Functional Materials, including coating, Ceramics, and Alloys
Co-Organizers
i. Dr. Jung Pyung Choi, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, jungpyung.choi@pnnl.gov (Lead)
ii. Dr. Paul Ohodnicki, University of Pittsburgh, pro8@pitt.edu
iii. Prof. Soumendra Basu, Boston University, basu@bu.edu
iv. Prof. Patrick Shamberger, Texas A&M University, Patrick.shamberger@tamu.edu
v. Dongping Lu, PNNL, Dongping.Lu@pnnl.gov


Focus area:
• Functional Oxides, Nitrides, and Carbides
• Ceramics and Dielectrics
• Sensors
• Thermal Energy Harvesting, Conversion, storage, and Management Devices
• Functional Coatings for Harsh Environments
• Nanotechnology and Multifunctional Materials
• Membrane Separation Materials, Processes, and Systems (H2, O2, CO2)
• Water Splitting and Other Catalyst Applications
• In-Situ Spectroscopy and Advanced Characterization of Functional Materials
• Harsh Environment Electromagnetic Materials
• Computer simulation/modeling includes AI, big data, and deep learning.

This symposium intends to provide a forum for researchers from national laboratories, universities, and industry to discuss the current understanding of materials science issues in advanced materials for energy conversion and storage, including high-temperature processes, and to discuss accelerating the development and acceptance of innovative materials, and test techniques for clean energy technology.

Abstracts Due 07/01/2024
Proceedings Plan Undecided
PRESENTATIONS APPROVED FOR THIS SYMPOSIUM INCLUDE
No additional information can be displayed at this time.


Questions about ProgramMaster? Contact programming@programmaster.org