ProgramMaster Logo
Conference Tools for 2018 TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition
Login
Register as a New User
Help
Submit An Abstract
Propose A Symposium
Presenter/Author Tools
Organizer/Editor Tools
About this Symposium
Meeting 2018 TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition
Symposium Materials for Energy Conversion and Storage
Sponsorship TMS Functional Materials Division
TMS: Energy Conversion and Storage Committee
Organizer(s) Amit Pandey, LG Fuel Cell Systems Inc.
Guihua Yu, The University of Texas at Austin
Scope Theme 1: Energy Conversion with emphasis on SOFCs.
Co-organizers:
Prof. Kyle S Brinkman, Clemson Univ., ksbrink@clemson.edu
Prof. Hitoshi Takamura, Tohoku University, takamura@material.tohoku.ac.jp
Prof. Xingbo Liu , West Virginia University , xingbo.liu@mail.wvu.edu
Prof. Soumendra Basu, Boston University, basu@bu.edu
Dr. Jung Pyung Choi, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, jungpyung.choi@pnnl.gov
Prof. Prabhakar Singh, Univ. of Connecticut, singh@engr.uconn.edu

Themes: These symposium topics include, but not limited to, experiments and modeling of the above-mentioned systems including,
- Durability of fuel cell and stack materials
- Thermal-Chemical-mechanical stresses/expansion
- Study of thermo-mechanical degradation mechanisms.
- Effect of microstructure evolution on the properties and efficiency.
- Role of grain boundary density, grain size, orientation and grain growth.
- Advances in the characterization and modeling techniques.

Theme 2: Energy Storage with emphasis on Batteries
Co-organizers:
Prof. Partha P. Mukherjee, pmukherjee@tamu.edu
Prof. Leela M. R. Arava, Wayne State University, larava@wayne.edu
Prof. George Nelson, University of Alabama in Huntsville, george.nelson@uah.edu

Topics will include:
- Physicochemical Interaction in lithium-ion batteries and beyond (e.g. Li-S, Li-air, Na-ion)
- Electrode microstructure - property - performance interplay
- Meso-scale modeling and characterization

Theme 3: Materials Design for Sustainability and Energy Harvesting
Co-organizers:
Dr. Surojit Gupta, University of North Dakota, surojit.gupta@engr.und.edu
Dr. Indrajit Dutta, Corning Inc., DuttaI@corning.com
Dr. Hamidreza Mohseni, BOSCH, Hamidreza.Mohseni@us.bosch.com
Dr. D. Wen, University of Leeds, D.Wen@leeds.ac.uk

Themes: Sustainability has become an integral component of research, and a critical issue for the growth and well-being of society. Some of the critical challenges are the rapid urbanization, a growing and aging population, the large amount of waste disposed to landfill, global impoverishing of natural resources and environment (fossil fuels, minerals, water and energy scarcity etc.), declining infrastructure, the emergency to control carbon dioxide emissions among others. These challenges have prompted – materials scientists and engineers to design “green” or environmentally benign technologies. This component of the symposium will focus on a variety of green and sustainable technologies for energy harvesting, additive manufacturing, green tribology, next generation products and processes, and development of advanced instrumentation and control systems etc.
Proposed Session Topics
- Solar Energy
- Energy Harvesting
- Nanotechnology and next generation multifunctional materials
- Additive manufacturing, 3D printing, and sustainability
- Green Tribology
- Life cycle analysis of materials and products

Theme 4: Functional Materials including High Temperature Ceramics and Alloys
Co-organizers:
Dr. Paul Ohodnicki, National Energy Technology Laboratory, Paul.Ohodnicki@netl.doe.gov
Dr. Jung Pyung Choi, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, jungpyung.choi@pnnl.gov
Prof. Reza Shahbazian-Yassar, University of Illinois at Chicago, rsyassar@uic.edu
Prof. Soumendra Basu, Boston University, basu@bu.edu
Prof. Dwayne Arola, Univ. of Washington, darola@uw.edu
Prof. Josh Gladden, Olemiss, jgladden@olemiss.edu
Prof. Rajeev Gupta, Univ. of Akron, rgupta@uakron.edu

Materials / Applications:
- Functional Oxides / (SOFC, Sensors, Others)
- Ceramics and Dielectrics / (Battery, Insulation Dielectrics, Capacitors, Sensors)
- Solid State Batteries/Electrolyzers/Solid oxide fuel cells/Membrane Separation/ electrolysis cells
Topics will include:
- Coatings for interconnections.
- Membrane Separation Materials, Processes and Systems (H2, O2, CO2).
- High temperature electrolysis cells.
- High temperature performance of functional materials (electrochemical, electronic, optical, etc.)
- In-situ spectroscopy of oxidation state of functional oxides in operation
- Ceramics//Composite Structures/Alloys- Solid Oxide fuel cells, Thermal Barrier Coatings, Diesel particulate filters etc.
- Reliability and durability of high-temperature ceramics and alloys, including the effect of residual/ operational stresses, corrosion under oxidizing and reducing environment.
- Advances in the characterization and modeling techniques including multiscale and in-situ.
- Microstructural reconstruction and mapping onto fundamental mechanistic models for predicting overall performance
- Nanostructuring and infiltration of functional electrode materials (SOFC, battery, capacitor) for electronic / electrochemical performance

The intent of this symposium is to provide a forum for researchers from national laboratories, universities, and industry to discuss current understanding of materials science issues in high-temperature processes and accelerate the development and acceptance of innovative materials and test techniques for clean energy technology.
Abstracts Due 07/01/2017
Proceedings Plan Planned:
IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SUBMIT AN ABSTRACT . . .
. . . you are welcome to do so. Just click on the button. Note: To submit an abstract, you must be registered and logged into the system.

Questions about ProgramMaster? Contact programming@programmaster.org